DIY Nail Polish Storage Solution

Published September 15, 2012 by pounds4polish

Happy Saturday everyone :-), I want to say thanks to all of you for your support. I know that weight loss is one of the biggest struggles that people face and I know that the journey to reaching our goals will be a tough one with many ups and downs. But I have confidence in myself and in any of you that would like to join me. Before I got pregnant with my last child I had joined Weight Watchers and lost 40lbs. This time around I’m not sure if I want to rejoin or not but I do plan to implement the same techniques. I will have a post coming with a detailed plan. But for now, that’s enough of the dreaded weight talk. So let’s talk polish!!!

When I started buying polishes I didn’t have any problem finding a little box to contain them, but the bigger my collection grew the smaller the box got. So I took to the Internet and stores to look for a storage solution. I saw alot of neat ideas but I had one problem, I couldn’t afford any of them and I’m not handy enough to make a nail polish rack. So I had to find a solution that I could afford and here’s what I came up with.

 Image

I went to my local Dollar Tree and I discovered these little crates. Ok, now don’t laugh but whatever polish I’m wearing I take with me, just in case I have a polish emergency. So I took the polish I had and set it in the crate and stacked another one on top just to make sure I’d be able to stack them with polish inside. So my little experiment showed me that I could stack them but also that if I just sat the polish in the bottom they would fall over because of the holes in the bottom, so I continued to browse the store for a solution to that. What I came up with was a thick foam poster board and some textured shelf liner.

Here are the supplies you’ll need:

Image  

  • How ever many crates you want to use( I originally got 4 and that wasn’t enough so I had to go back & get 8 more. They do have different colors if your not a pink lover like me.
  • Whatever design or color of shelf liner you prefer.
  • Foam poster board or cardboard from an old box if you have any.
  • Scissors
  • Box cutter or you could just use the scissors if you don’t have one
  • Pencil

Here are  the steps to recreating this storage solution:

Step 1- Put your shelf liner on top of the bottom of your crate and trace. Or you could just get a ruler and measure the bottom then trace that onto your shelf liner.

Image

Step 2- Cut your shelf liner to size and place it on the corner of your poster board and trace it.

Image

Image

Step 3- Cut your square out. When you do this step if your using a box cutter make sure to lift the board off whatever surface your using, so that you don’t ruin it.

Image

Image

Step 4- Place your cut out inside the crate. If its a little bit too big on one side just take it back out and trim it to fit( I had to do this a few times).

Image

Step 5- Take your cut out of the shelf liner and place it inside on top of the board. You may have to trim it a little to get it perfect.

Image

Step 6- Add your polishes. The amount you can fit in their depends on the brand of polish. This crate has my Jordana glitters and a few of their color polishes. Theirs 16 and it can hold about 4 more.

Image

Step 7- Stack if you have multiples and enjoy. For each additional one repeat this process ( I have 12 now). After I did the first one I just used those cutouts to trace for the others.Image

I hope you all like my 1st DIY post, and hopefully someone will find this useful. I have swatches coming soon, so Til then blogosphere.

How do you store your polishes?

 

One comment on “DIY Nail Polish Storage Solution

  • Leave a comment

    Greencoffeehangover

    A little bit of everything

    The Daily Varnish

    The daily musings of two nail polish addicts.

    Polishy of Truth

    A beauty and lacquer blogger who doesn't hold back - and yes, likes Depeche Mode.

    work / play / polish

    life through manicures

    Beauty in Budget Blog

    Because you don't have to spend a fortune to look like a million bucks.

    She Paints Polish

    Another lacquer lover with a music obsession.

    Polish Groupie

    A girl and her love of nail polish

    misshollyberries

    Nail Polish, Makeup and Sarcasm!

    Bright & Beautyfull!

    Beauty | Fashion | Lifestyle